All Pueblo Council of Governors

Officers

Governor E. Paul Torres, Chairman Governor Val Panteah Sr, Vice Chairman Governor Terry Aguilar, Secretary

Acoma

RESOLUTION

2401 12th Street NW Suite 200 N Albuquerque NM 87104

Cochiti

ALL PUEBLO COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS RESOLUTION NO. APCG 2015-17

Isleta

Jemez

COMPANION RESOLUTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF CHACO CANYON AND ALL TRADITIONAL CULTURAL PROPERTIES AND SACRED SITES AFFILIATED WITH CHACO CANYON

Laguna

Nambe

Ohkay

Owingeh

Picuris

Pojoaque

Sandia

San

Felipe

San

. . .

100 - 100 - 1

Santa Ana

Santa Clara

Santo

Domingo

Taos

Tesuque

Ysleta Del Sur

WHEREAS, the All Pueblo Council of Governors ("APCG") is comprised of the Pueblos of Acoma, Cochiti, Isleta, Jemez, Laguna, Nambe, Ohkay Owingeh, Picuris, Pojoaque, San Felipe, San Ildefonso, Sandia, Santa Ana, Santa Clara, Santo Domingo, Taos, Tesuque, Zia and Zuni, and one pueblo in Texas, Ysleta del Sur, each having the sovereign authority to govern their own affairs;

WHEREAS, the purpose of the All Pueblo Council of Governors is to advocate, foster, protect, and encourage the social, cultural & traditional well-being of the Pueblo Nations; and

WHEREAS, through their inherent & sovereign rights, the All Pueblo Council of Governors will promote the language, health, economic, and educational advancement of all Pueblo people; and

WHEREAS, this resolution is companion to All Pueblo Council of Governors Resolution No. 2014-04, which supports and requests meaningful government-to-government consultation with federal agencies, the Department of the Interior ("DOI"), which includes the Bureau of Land Management ("BLM"), Bureau of Indians Affairs ("BIA"), and National Park Service ("NPS"), over actions or management plans that may affect Chaco Canyon and traditional cultural properties, sacred sites, and night skies in the surrounding landscape; and

WHEREAS, the All Pueblo Council of Governors reiterates its request for meaningful government-to-government consultation, but now believes that the Department of the Interior ("DOI") must take additional steps to ensure that Chaco Canyon, traditional cultural properties and sacred sites in the surrounding landscape are fully protected from the potential impacts of oil and gas development and night skies are protected from flaring; and

WHEREAS, the All Pueblo Council of Governors thanks Senator Tom Udall, Senator Martin Heinrich, and Congressman Lujan for honoring the important cultural connections between our members and Chaco Canyon by working to ensure that federal agencies are coordinating and fulfilling their legal duties to manage and protect Chaco Canyon and the surrounding landscape.

Zia

Zuni

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the All Pueblo Council of Governors supports the creation of a protection zone around Chaco Canyon where the Department of the Interior ("DOI") will prioritize the protection of traditional cultural properties and sacred sites, including, but not limited to, the Great North Road, the West road, and Pierre's Site;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the All Pueblo Council of Governors requests that the DOI, BLM, BIA, and NPS, pursuant to their authorities and responsibilities to our members under the National Historic Preservation Act, the Archeological Resources Protection Act, the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act, the Federal Land Policy and Management Act, the National Environmental Policy Act, and Executive Orders 12898 and 13007, formally adopt and cooperate on the management of the aforesaid protection zone, and furthermore that they engage and work closely with the Navajo Nation on these efforts; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED THAT the All Pueblo Council of Governors supports ongoing efforts to secure stronger protections for the landscape surrounding Chaco Canyon, including the proposed "master leasing plan."

CERTIFICATION

We, the undersigned officials of the All Pueblo Council of Governors hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution No. APCG 2015-17 was considered and adopted at a duly called council meeting held on the $\underline{19^{th}}$ day of November 2015, and at which time a quorum was present and the same was approved by a vote of $\underline{13}$ in favor, $\underline{0}$ against, $\underline{0}$ abstain, and $\underline{7}$ absent.

ALL PUEBLO COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS

	By:	
	·	Governor E. Paul Torres, APCG Chairman
ATTEST:		
Terry Aquilar APCG Secretary		-